Group Members

group photo 1

Principal Investigator

jalan

Dr. Bharat Jalan 

Associate Professor and Shell Chair

Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

Phone: (612) 625-4088 

Email: bjalan@umn.edu

Curriculum Vitae (CV)

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dylee

Dr. Dooyong Lee

Email: dylee@umn.edu

Research: Hybrid MBE of correlated oxides  

 

Dr. Anil Kumar Rajapitamahuni

Email: rajap016@umn.edu

Research: Transport and Gating

              

Dr. Hyojin Yoon

Email: hyoon@umn.edu

Research: Novel oxide MBE

Graduate Students

jin.png

Mr. Jin Yue

Email: yuexx129@umn.edu 

Research: MBE of strongly correlated complex oxide Thin Films and Heterostructures

bill.png

Mr. William Nunn

Email: nunnx029@umn.edu

Research: Hybrid MBE of Sn-based compounds

tristan.png

Mr. Tristan Truttmann

Email: trutt009@umn.edu

Research: MBE of Stannate Thin Films and Heterostructures

shutong.png

Mr. Shutong Li (co-advised with Prof. Turan Birol) 

Email: li000269@umn.edu

Research: Theory of novel complex oxides.

fengdeng_2

Mr. Fengdeng Liu

Email: liu00492@umn.edu

Research: Novel Complex Oxides

                               

Ms. Anusha kamath Manjeshwar

Email: kamat086@umn.edu

Research: Thin Film Growth and Energy Conversion

                        

Ms. Rashmi Choudhary

Email: choud140@umn.edu

Research: MBE of Novel Complex Oxides

 

Mr. Sreejith Nair

Email: nair0074@umn.edu

Research: Oxide MBE

 

Mr. Zhifei Yang

Email: yang7001@umn.edu

Research: Oxide MBE

Undergraduates

kavin.png

Mr. Kavinraaj

Undergraduate Researcher, UMN  

(Jan 2017 - present)

Email: elang005@umn.edu

sarah.png

Ms. Sara Sandlass

Undergraduate Researcher, UMN  

(Jan 2018 - present)

Email: sandl039@umn.edu

danielle

Ms. Danielle Pauline Gross

REU, University of Wisconsin Madison 

(June 2019 - present)

Email: dpgross2@wisc.edu

curtis

Mr. Curtis Adams

REU, University of Maryland

(June 2019 - present)

Email: curtisa1@umbc.edu

Former Postdoctoral Fellows

ryan.png

Dr. Ryan Haislmaier

Postdoctoral fellow

Email: rhaislma@umn.edu

Now at Intel

mtangi_photo

Dr. Malli Tangi

Email: mtangi@umn.edu

Now Researcher at the Max Planck Institute, Germany

laxman.png

Dr. Laxman R. Thoutam

Email: lthoutam@umn.edu

Research: Correlated Oxides

Former Graduate Students

abhinav.jpg

Mr. Abhinav Prakash 

Email: praka019@umn.edu

Research: Hybrid MBE High mobility Stannate Thin Films and Heterostructures

Now at University of Chicago

koustav.jpg

Mr. Koustav Ganguly (co-advised with Prof. Chris Leighton) 

Graduate Student 2014-2018

Email: gangu015@umn.edu

Research: Novel growth strategies of stannates.  

Now at Intel

tianqi_wang.jpg

Dr. Tianqi Wang 

Graduate Student 2013-2018

Email: wang3769@umn.edu

Research: MBE growth of SrSnO3

Now at LAM Research, CA

andrew.jpg

Dr. Andrew Xu 

PhD student 2013-2016

Email: andrewxu@umn.edu

Reserach: Growth of Rare-earth titanates

Now at Micron

Former Undergraduates

chrischeng.jpg

Mr. Christopher Cheng

Undergraduate Researcher  (May 2014 - 2016)

Email: cheng172@umn.edu

johndewey.jpg

Mr. John Dewey

Undergraduate Researcher

(May-2015 - present)

Email: dewey.john.e@gmail.com

 

Ms. Clarissa Deborah

Undergraduate Researcher, UMN  

(Jan 2017 - May 2017)

Email: wijay007@umn.edu

Former Visiting Scholars

mariana.png

Ms. Mariana Isabel Verdugo

REU, University of California, Berkeley

Summer 2018

Email: mariverdugo@berkeley.edu

roberto.png

Mr. Roberto A Reyes Saez

REU, Universidad de Puerto Rico en Humacao 

Summer 2018

Email: roberto.reyes4@upr.edu

 

Mr. Ahmad Matar Abed

Undergraduate REU 

Universidad de Puerto Rico en Humacao 

Summer 2017

Email: matar014@umn.edu

chrisgutierrez.png

Dr. Christopher Gutiérrez

Post-doctoral Associate

NIST/University of Maryland 

Email: christopher.gutierrez@nist.gov

Research: Oxide MBE 

 

Mr. Andy Marroquin

Summer 2016 REU student (MRSEC UMN)

UT RGV

Email: andyrmarroquin@gmail.com

emiliebenson.png

Ms. Emilie Benson

Summer 2015 REU student (NNIN)

Gustavus Adolphus College, St Peter MN

Email: ebenson@gustavus.edu

angels.png

Mr. Angel R Agrinsoni Santiago  

Summer 2015 REU student (MRSEC UMN)

University of Puerto Rico

Email: angel.agrinsoni@upr.edu

 

Mr. Mike Falck

Science teacher

Chaska High School, Minnesota

Email: falckm@district112.org

 

Mr. Peter Swanson

Senior student

Chaska High School, Minnesota

Email: epiccode13@yahoo.com

 

Mr. Robert Newman

MS Student

now at Seagate, Minneapolis

 

Mr. Patrick Marshal

worked as undergraduate researcher

now pursuing PhD in materials at UCSB

 

Mr. Rohan Pitre

Email: pitre005@umn.edu


johnhancock.jpg

Mr. John Hancock

Email: hanc0079@umn.edu

nathanielkraft.jpg

Mr. Nathaniel Kraft 

Email: kraft173@umn.edu